Human Rights Commissioners

Human Rights Commissioners

The Cook County Human Rights Commission is an eleven member board appointed by the President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, subject to the advice and consent of the Cook County Board.  Human Rights Commission members must be residents of Cook County, and may not be employed by the County during their term.  Commission members, who are appointed to a three-year term, serve without compensation.  Appointments to the Human Rights Commission have a strong commitment to and involvement in civil rights and human relation issues. Human Rights Commission Board Members have demonstrated a passion to the ideals set forth in the County’s Human Rights Ordinance and a commitment to making Cook County a better place to live and work.

  • Karina Ayala-Bermejo
  • Jack Block
  • Enoch Clarke-Bey
  • Todd Connor
  • Ceylan Eatherton
  • Kenneth A. Gunn, Chairperson
  • Charles E. Harris, II
  • Gia Orr
  • Hedy M. Ratner
  • Sheila H. Schultz
  • Amber Smock

Meetings of the Commission

Regular meetings of the Cook County Commission on Human Rights are held on the second Thursday of every other month (unless designated otherwise). The meetings are held at 10:00 a.m. at 69 W. Washington Street, Suite 3040, Chicago, IL 60602. Meetings of the Commission are open to the public. If you need any other assistance to attend, please contact the Commission at least 72 hours prior to the date of the scheduled meeting at 312.603.1100 (voice) or 312.603.1101 (TT/TDD).

Next Meeting

Notice of Cancellation (May 12 2016 meeting)

Minutes of Recent Meetings

January 14 2016 Meeting Minutes (Approved 3 10 16)

November 12 2015 Meeting Minutes (Approved 1 14 16)