Meet the Cook County Wellness Council


Cook County Wellness Council Members
Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle has selected fourteen leaders from the Healthcare industry, Labor, and  Cook County government to head up the Wellness Council; part of the Cook County Worksite Wellness resolution. Council members are slated to meet monthly, and will be tasked with detailing programming around the County’s key area of focus.

New member J. Todd Phillips, Vice President – Illinois Local Markets & Sales Strategy at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois, credits President Preckwinkle and her staff for breaking new ground by investing in the health and well-being of Cook County employees and their family members. “This investment will pay dividends not only for those individuals but also for all residents of, and visitors to, Cook County for many years to come.  Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois enthusiastically supports President Preckwinkle’s vision and we are proud to partner with Cook County to make that vision a reality” he said.

The pathway to better health can be a long one, and requires commitment.  The launch of Spring Into Health! earlier in 2012 was the first step in a collaborative effort that will extend throughout the year, and for years to come.  Employees reap substantial benefits from participating in Spring Into Health!, but so will taxpayers.  Studies have shown that health risks decreases after the implementation of a comprehensive worksite wellness program.  In turn this will lead to increased government savings due to reduced health care costs, absenteeism and workers’ compensations claims.

As the data regarding Cook County employees’ collective health rolls in and is analyzed, programming and communications will be developed to tackle those specific issues and meet ongoing needs.

Board Members (click for a profile):

Dr. Ram Raju, Chief Executive Officer, Cook County Health and Hospitals System

Dr. Terry Mason, Chief Operating Officer, Cook County Health and Hospitals System

J. Todd Phillips

Dr. Sandra Burke, Chicago Metro Board of Directors, American Heart Association

Jeanette Flom, Executive Director, American Diabetes Association, Chicago

Matt Maloney, Director of Health Policy Respiratory Health Association of Metropolitan Chicago

Christine Boardman, SEIU President

Don Finn, IBEW, Business Representative

Maureen O’Donnell, Bureau Chief, Human Resources, Cook County

Tariq Malhance, Chief Financial Officer, Cook County

Lisa Walik, Risk Management, Cook County

Jessey Neves, Director of Public Affairs and Communications, Cook County