Board of Review Commissioner Larry Rogers, Jr. Continues Pre-Registration Property Tax Appeal Initiative Throughout Cook County

Commissioner Larry Rogers, Jr., of the Cook County Board of Review, has hosted more than a half dozen pre-registration property tax appeal forums throughout Cook County since July 9th. Taxpayers have come out in the hundreds seeking relief from the excessive property tax bills they have recently received. Commissioner Rogers’ Pre-Registration Initiate will come to an end the 2nd week of August, as the Board of Review officially opens for the 2012 Property Tax Assessment Appeal Session. He has hosted these forums along with U.S. Congressman Bobby Rush, U.S. U.S. Congressman Jesse Jackson, Jr., Congressman Danny Davis, U.S. Congressman Luis Gutierrez, State Senator Mattie Hunter, State Senator Kwame Raoul, State Senator Barbara Lightford, State Senator Don Harmon, State Senator Maggie Crotty, State Representative Esther Golar, State Representative Marcus Evans, State Representative Kimberly Du Buclet, State Representative Barbara Flynn Currie, State Representative Robert Rita, State Representative Marcus Evans, State Representative William Davis, State Representative Karen Yarbrough, State Representative Lisa Hernandez, State Representative Al Riley, State Representative Thaddeus Jones, State Representative Arthur L. Turner, Commissioner Deborah Sims, Commissioner Robert Steele, Commissioner Earlean Collins, Commissioner Jeffery Tobolski, Commissioner Jesus Garcia, Commissioner Joan Patricia Murphy, Mayor of Hazel Crest Robert Donaldson, Mayor of Lynwood Eugene Williams, Mayor of Maywood Henderson Yarbrough, Mayor of Calumet City Michelle Markiewicz-Qualkinbush, Mayor of Dixmoor Keevan Grimmet, President of Cicero Larry Dominick, Mayor of Berwyn Robert Lovero, Mayor of Harvey Eric Kellogg, Mayor of Phoenix Terry Wells, Mayor of Riverdale Deyon Dean, Mayor of South Holland Don DeGraff, Mayor of Country Club Hills Dwight Welch, Mayor of Richton Park Richard Reinbold, Mayor of Matteson Andre B. Ashmore, Proviso Township Supervisor Mike Corrigan, Proviso Township Assessor Steve Zawaski, Oak Park Assessor Ali ElSaffar, Cicero Township Assessor Emilio Cundari, Rich Township Assessor Carol Ranieri, Alderman Pat Dowell, Alderman Leslie Hairston, Alderman Roderick Sawyer, Alderman Sandi Jackson, Alderman Michelle Harris, Alderman Anthony Beale, Alderman John Pope, Alderman JoAnn Thompson, Alderman Matt O’Shea, Alderman Willie Cochran, Alderman Howard Brookins, Alderman Michael Chandler, Alderman Walter Burnett, Alderman Emma Mitts, Alderman Carrie Austin, Alderman Rafael Avila, Alderman Antoine Collins, and Matteson Trustee Sam Brown. The remaining Pre-Registration Appeal Forums will be held on: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 at 6:00 pm – Kennedy King College (Great Hall) – 740 W. 63rd St., Chicago Monday, July 30, 2012 at 7:00 pm – Percy Julian Middle School (Auditorium) – 416 S. Ridgeland Ave., Oak Park Tuesday, July 31, 2012 at 6:30 pm – South Suburban College Kindig Performing Arts Center – 15800 S. State St., South Holland Thursday, August 2, 2012 at 6:00 pm – Cicero Community Center (Gym) – 2250 S. 49th Ave., Cicero Wednesday, August 8, 2012 at 6:00 pm – Liberty Cultural Center – 6445 W. 27th Pl., Berwyn The forums will consist of a presentation where the function of the Cook County Board of Review, issues surrounding property tax assessed valuations, and the importance of filing a property tax assessment appeal will be discussed. After the presentation there will be a question and answer period, after which Board of Review staff will assist attendees with completing assessed valuation appeal forms. Taxpayers are urged to please bring their tax bill to the event. Commissioner Rogers has launched an aggressive community outreach campaign in response to the property tax crisis that residents across many communities of Cook County have been facing. He stated that “Through unemployment or underemployment, taxpayers are simply without the means to afford exorbitant tax bills.” The Board of Review does not assess property, set tax rates, or collect taxes. There is no fee to file an appeal, and in most cases an attorney is not necessary. Board of Review complaint forms can be obtained at the office of Commissioner Larry Rogers, Jr. in the Cook County Building located at 118 N. Clark, Room 601, Chicago, IL 60602. They may also be found and filed on the Board of Review website at: For further information about appealing your property taxes, you may contact Commissioner Rogers’ office at (312) 603-5540. Office hours are Monday – Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.


News Rooms

Press Room