Cook County Board President, Commissioners Sworn In

President’s ambitious agenda for third term will be guided by the Policy Roadmap: Five-Year Strategic Plan for Offices Under the President

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle was sworn in for her third term of office today by Chief Judge Timothy Evans. Preckwinkle was reelected to her position after running unopposed in the November 6 election.

In a speech following the ceremony, Preckwinkle highlighted the successes of her first two terms and outlined an ambitious agenda for the third term that will be guided by the Policy Roadmap: Five-Year Strategic Plan for Offices Under the President —the first comprehensive policy driven strategic plan for the Offices Under the President (OUP) since the administration’s 2011 transition plan.

The remarks, as prepared, are available here .

Some highlights include:

“My administration will be taking a deliberative step to further show that government should be an instrument for compassion, not cruelty.”

“A path to a more equitable Cook County recognizes how racially and economically segregated this County is and the tremendous disparities that exist.”

“Viewed through the lenses of equity, engagement and excellence, we have identified six policy priorities upon which to concentrate our efforts – We will build communities that are: healthy, vital, safe & thriving, sustainable, smart and open.”

“Our government exists to serve residents and this is a forward looking plan that believes in the best of Cook County and the best for Cook County - because we all do better when we all do better.”

The 17 members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners, including seven new Commissioners, were also sworn in by Evans. 

The Board of Commissioners members are:

Brandon Johnson - 1st District

Dennis Deer - 2nd District

Bill Lowry - 3rd District

Stanley Moore - 4th District

Deborah Sims - 5th District

Donna Miller - 6th District

Alma E. Anaya - 7th District

Luis Arroyo, Jr. - 8th District

Peter N. Silvestri - 9th District

Bridget Gainer - 10th District

John P. Daley - 11th District

Bridget Degnen - 12th District 

Larry Suffredin - 13th District

Scott R. Britton - 14th District

Kevin B. Morrison - 15th District 

Jeffrey R. Tobolski - 16th District

Sean M. Morrison - 17th District


News Rooms

Press Room

Media Contact

President's Press Office