Cook County Looks Ahead to 2020 Census

Cook County Board of Commissioners approves 13 members to the Complete Count Census Commission

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle and the Board of Commissioners today approved 13 appointments to the Complete Count Census Commission to guide the County’s work on the 2020 U.S. Census.

“It is essential that all residents of Cook County participate in the 2020 Census,” Preckwinkle said. “The census determines congressional apportionment and the allocation of billions of dollars in federal funding for education, public health, infrastructure and countless other important programs critical to our residents.”

This Commission will encourage participation, increase public awareness and ensure Cook County is accurately represented. Commissioner Stanley Moore, 4th District, will serve as Chairman of the Complete Count Census Commission with Commissioner Dennis Deer, 2nd District, Commissioner Alma Anaya, 7th District, and Luis Arroyo Jr., 8th District, serving as the Commission’s Vice Chairs.

“An accurate and complete census count is important to the future of Cook County’s cultural, economic and social health,” said Commissioner Moore. “Every person on every block must be counted because if even one person is missed the entire County and state loses.”

The 2020 Census is vital to all residents of Cook County. Population counts from the Census determine the annual allocation of more than $800 billion in federal investment across states, counties and cities. Some estimate that amounts to $14,000 per person per decade. In addition to those investments, the Census determines our voice in Congress. Boundaries of city, county, and congressional districts are determined by census figures. An accurate census helps ensure fair representation at all levels of government.

A recent George Washington Institute of Public Policy report determined that more than $34 billion tied to census figures are distributed to Illinois through federal programs. In order to facilitate participation and raise awareness, $2 million has been set aside in the 2019 County budget to help fund outreach efforts.

The additional members of the Commission are as follows (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Anita Banerji, Policy Director, Forefront Chicago
  • Marlon Everett, Director, Cardiovascular Unit, Advocate Trinity Hospital 
  • Patrice E. Ford, Executive Director, Steans Family Foundation
  • Layla Suleiman Gonzalez, Director, Human Services Interdisciplinary Program
  • Emmanuel Garcia, Development and Communications Manager, Crossroads Fund
  • Sean Garrett, Chief Executive Officer, United Way
  • Kimberly A. Lightford, Illinois State Senator, 4th District, Senate Majority Leader
  • Phyllis Logan, Founder and Executive Director, Universal Housing Solutions CDC
  • Barbara A. Lumpkin, Interim President and Chief Executive Officer, Chicago Urban League
  • Lamell McMorris, Founding Principal, Greenlining Realty USA
  • Vanessa Valentin, Director of Organizing and Programs, Northwest Side Housing Center
  • Griselda Vega Samuel - Midwest Regional Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
  • Johnny Wilbon, VP/Marketing Manager, Bank of America

For more census information and updates please visit: #CookCountyCensus


News Rooms

Press Room

Media Contact

President's Press Office

Related Services