Cook County Board President, Sustainability Officer Honored by Environmental Community

Laura Oakleaf

Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle and Cook County Chief Sustainability Officer Deborah Stone each received Environmental Leadership Awards for their efforts in advancing sustainability in Cook County. The awards were given by the Illinois Environmental Council (IEC) on September 27 at their annual dinner.

“A sleeping local government sustainability giant awoke” when President Preckwinkle took office, said Brian Urbaszewski, Director of Environmental Health Programs at the Respiratory Health Association, who introduced the President.

“Local environmental action is effective”, President Preckwinkle said in her remarks. “Cook County has reduced greenhouse gas emissions from our buildings by 22 percent in only five years by instituting energy efficiency measures. We are also well on our way to achieving goals set forth in the Next Century Conservation Plan, to make Cook County Forest Preserves a national leader in urban conservation.”

IEC represents 60 environmental and community organizations and nearly 300 individuals from throughout Illinois.