National Association of Counties Achievement Awards

In 2023, Cook County was honored with a record 36 National Association of Counties Achievement Awards that recognize innovative, effective county government programs that strengthen services for residents. Awards are given in 18 categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. 

Award Totals

2023 - 36 awards
2022 - 13 awards
2021 - 17 awards
2020 - 8 awards
2019 - 1 award

The winning department/agency’s programs and categories for 2023 are as follows:  

Children and Youth

Civic Education and Public Information

Community and Economic Development

County Administration and Management

County Resiliency

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Financial Management


Information Technology


Personnel Management, Employment and Training

Risk and Emergency Management