Deferred Compensation

Service Information

Nationwide is excited to announce the Cook County Plan Monthly Workshop Series.

Register to join the monthly workshop series for valuable information that can help you make decisions about planning for and living through retirement.


Join us for a session on the benefits of enrolling and participating in the Cook County Deferred Compensation Plan. Learn about tax deferred savings, investment options available and an overview of our easy and secure online enrollment process. All are welcome to participate.

Every First Wednesday of the month | 12:00 PM CST | Register now

Asset Allocation

Join us for a session to discuss your options for balancing risk and reward within your investment strategy. We'll talk about how individual goals, risk tolerance and time horizon for investing can be considered, and why they're each important. All are welcome to participate.

Every Second Wednesday of the month | 12:00 PM CST | Register now

Approaching Retirement

Join us for a session about important considerations as you get closer to retirement. We will discuss longevity, income sources, asset consolidation, and required minimum distributions. All are welcome to attend.

Every Third Wednesday of the month | 12:00 PM CST | Register now

COVID-19 Update

The Chicago Office of Nationwide Retirement Solutions at 205 W. Randolph St., Ste. 1540, will be closed to walk-in consultations in response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).

  • The local office closure will be extended until further notice for the safety of participants. Nationwide will closely monitor the situation and will reopen as soon as it is safe to do so. 
  • Nationwide remains committed to assisting participants during this period of market volatility.
  • Individual consultations will continue to be available to participants via phone. Click here to schedule an appointment that’s convenient for you.
  • Contact (855) 457-2665 to speak with a representative. Note that call volumes have been unusually high, leading to longer wait times or the need for callbacks.
  • Investment advice may be obtained at by accessing the My Investment Planner tool in the Learning Center. Investment changes may also be made on the Plan web site.

Nationwide appreciates your patience during this time and apologizes for any inconvenience this temporary office closure may cause. Please monitor for updates.

*If you received an email from Nationwide on Friday, July 31, 2020 regarding a change in your email address, please disregard it. It is a legitimate email from Nationwide but was sent to you in error. We apologize if this erroneous email caused any concern or confusion.

Deferred Compensation

Cook County offers a Section 457 deferred compensation plan as a tax-deferred method for you to save for retirement. Employees enrolled in the plan make voluntary contributions each pay period and invest in an array of investment options to help prepare for their income needs in retirement. This account is a voluntary contribution that can help to bridge the gap between your defined benefit plan (pension) and how much you will need while in retirement.

IRS deferral limit in 2022 is $20,500

The IRS retirement plan deferral limit increases from $19,500 (2021 plan year) to $20,500 (2022 plan year). The catch-up deferral limit for employees age 50 will also remain the same for plan year 2022 of $6,500.

You can login into your account to make changes to your deferral amount at


Phone: 1-877-677-3678



Retirement Planning 101


Deferred Compensation Plan Documents

2019 Q3 Cook County Retirement Readiness Report 

2019 Q2 Cook County Retirement Readiness Report

2019 Q1 Cook County Retirement Readiness Report

2019 Q4 Cook County Plan Health Statistics

2019 Q3 Cook County Plan Health Statistics 

Cook County DC 2018 Audit Report


Deferred Compensation Committee Members 2019

Article IX Deferred Compensation Committee

Section 9.01.   Membership of Committee.  A committee of at least nine (9) members shall be known as the “Deferred Compensation Committee” (hereafter the “Committee). The following individuals shall serve on the Committee: Chief Administrative Officer, County Comptroller, Comptroller of the Forest Preserve District, a representative appointed by the Chief Executive Officer of the County Health and Hospital System, and a Representative appointed by the County Treasurer.  The remaining members shall be appointed by the President of the Count Board of Commissioners. The Committee shall appoint, select, or elect a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, and a Secretary, under such policies and procedures as are adopted by the Committee. All members of the Committee shall serve without compensation.

Current Cook County Deferred Compensation Committee Members